The Black, The Beautiful, The Gifted Gil Scott-Heron

They need to study music. I played in several bands before I began my career as a poet. There’s a big difference between putting words over some music, and blending those same words into the music. There’s not a lot of humor. They use a lot of slang and colloquialisms, and you don’t really see inside the person. Instead, you just get a lot of posturing.
Gil Scott-Heron on rappers |1992|

There are somethings in life you just never forgot. Losing your virginity. Learning how to ride a bicycle. Graduation. Having your heart stolen and broken. I was 23 years old when I was first introduced to the work of Gil Scott Heron. It happened inadvertenly. There were a group of ol’ schools (45 yrs old and up) and myself discussing the latest episode of Def Peotry at work when one asked me, “You know about Gil Scott?” My reply was ” Hell yeah, I know bout Jill Scott! She can blow.” There was a simulteanous chorus of laughter after my reply. One of the old schools smiled and patted me on the shoulder and said to me, “I’m gonna hook you up.” The next day, he gave me twelve vinyl albums and told me, “When I wanna get right and get my mind focused on dealing with these white folks, I listen to Gil.” Those albums sat in my apartment for three months untouched and unheard until one Saturday I decided to put them on while cleaning up. I only got through two albums (Small Talk at 125th & Lenox/Winter in America ) through the entire weekend. I was in awe of what I was hearing.

I had never heard anything like “Comment #1” or “Home Is Where The Hatred Is” or “Winter In America.” Gil Scott Heron not only made me think about my environment but the powers and circumstances that created my environment. I paid more attention to politics and world events because of Gil Scott Heron. My mind was sharper and more intellectual after listening to Gil Scott Heron. He let me know that as long as I wa speaking truth that I couldn’t be fucked with at all. Never mind that he struggled with drug addiction all his life because he’s the only man I know of that recieved a Masters degree from John Hopkins University before ever completing anyone’s undergraduate program.
His death isn’t a somber moment for me. Gil Scott Heron is finally free. I am fortunate to be able to say that I am one of the blessed who was exposed to and even aware of his body of work. May he rest in power and peace.
______________
Gil Scott Heron
April 1, 1949 – May 27, 2011
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Lifestyle Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

    ©2010 ILikesItRaw.com, a Curtis James joint